Responsible Business

ENGIE has established a new Responsible Business Charter and independent Scrutiny Board in the UK, further underlining the company’s commitment to operate to the highest economic, social and environmental standards whilst building Public Trust. The Charter supports our company purpose to improve lives through better working and living environments. 

The Responsible Business Charter ensures transparency and accountability on critical issues including, speed of supplier payments, pension obligations, environmental and social responsibility, living wage, diversity and inclusion. Uniquely, ENGIE will be held to account for the effective delivery of its Charter by an independent Scrutiny Board. The Board will be overseen by the Centre for Governance and Scrutiny – a national charity which supports scrutiny excellence in the public and private sectors. It will report publicly in an annual report.

The independent Scrutiny Board is Chaired by Lord Kerslake, with 2020 members comprising, Lord Adebowale, Baroness Drake, Jacqui Ferguson and Joan MacNaughton.

Our Responsible Business Charter:

Our Scrutiny Board Members:

Lord Kerslake (Chair)

Bob Kerslake was Permanent Secretary of the Department for Communities and Local Government (DCLG) from November 2010 until he stepped down in February 2015 and was Head of the Civil Service from 2012 to 2014. Before joining the Civil Service, he received a knighthood for his services to local government, spending eight years serving the London Borough of Hounslow and then a further 11 years leading Sheffield Council. Bob Kerslake is President of the Local Government Association and brings extensive UK local government and communities experience.

Joan MacNaughton, CB HonFEI 

Joan MacNaughton is currently Chair of The Climate Group and of the Advisory Board of the New Energy Coalition of Europe. She is a Non-Executive Director the Energy Savings Trust and a member of several other Advisory Boards including ENGIE UK, Grantham Institute at Imperial College and UCL. Joan is also a founding Board Member of Powerful Women, which aims to increase the number of senior women in the energy sector. From 2010 to 2016, Joan was Executive Chair of the Energy Trilemma and is now Honorary Chair. In Government until 2007, Joan held a wide range of positions including as Chief of Staff to the Deputy Prime Minister to Prime Minister Thatcher and as Director General of Energy, playing a key role in shaping UK and international energy policy. In 2006 she was made a Companion of the Order of the Bath by HM The Queen. She is married to Sir Bill Jeffrey, and is also known as Lady Jeffrey.

Lord Adebowale

Victor Adebowale is Chief Executive of the social care enterprise Turning Point, President of the International Association of Philosophy and Psychiatry and President of the Community Practitioners and Health Visitors Association. Victor is also Chancellor at the University of Lincoln, a commissioner for the UK Commission for Employment and Skills and sits on the National Quality Board (DH). He is an associate of the Cambridge University Judge Business School, and Birmingham University Centre for Health Service Management. He is also Director at Leadership in Mind Ltd. and a member of the NHS Future Forum. Victor has been involved in a number of taskforce groups, advising the government on mental health, learning disability and the role of the voluntary sector, and brings expertise on various issues relating to health, social care and public policy.

Baroness Drake CBE

Jeannie Drake is a Labour peer appointed to the House of Lords in 2010. She was previously a senior trade union official; President of the TUC; a Commissioner of both the Equal Opportunities Commission and the Equality and Human Rights Commission and a lay member of the Employment Appeal Tribunal. She was a member of the Turner Pensions Commission and the inaugural Board of the Pension Protection Fund. Jeannie’s current roles include being on the Board of the Pensions Advisory Service, an independent member of the Private Equity Reporting Group and a trustee of the Telefonica UK pension scheme.

Jacqui Ferguson

Jacqui Ferguson is an experienced CEO from the technology industry and is the former CEO of Hewlett Packard Enterprise Services UK,  Ireland, Middle East Mediterranean and Africa. Jacqui is Non-Executive Director Wood PLC, Tesco Bank and Croda PLC. She is a Trustee of Engineering UK, a not for profit organisation focussed on inspiring young people into Engineering and Technology careers and also a member of the Scottish First Ministers Advisory Board for Women and Girls aimed at improving Gender Equality. Jacqui is passionate about what technology can enable, getting young people from all backgrounds interested in STEM, advancing more women into executive careers and progressing gender equality.

Related articles